top of page
logo_mb.png

Another album of Irish music performed by Bretons  ? …

Attention  ! complementarity, research and creation are the only motivations for these two exceptional musicians...

No question of making clovers in the foam that we serve.

The Irish repertoire is not reduced here to its seductive strength alone.

On the contrary, the accompaniments of the melodies are refined, the ornamentation is carefully adapted.

They both channel their energy as if to keep alive the reminiscences of a crazy dance well beyond the conventional clichés.

A rich and inspired inner journey which is not without contrast thanks to the "over-exposure" and "over-impression" with which the duo plays.

DISTRIBUTION

Erwan Menguy  (flute, low whistle)

Erwan Berenguer  (Guitar)

REFERENCES

Le Festival de Cornouailles, Les Celtiques de Guérande, Festival Roue Waroch, Festival des petites chapelles (Gétigné), Guinguette Alricq, Les mercredis de Tréguier,les mercredis de Loudia, Festival Interceltique de Lorient, Le Toucouleur, Le Kerganer,
La Mission Bretonne, Les Apéros-Breizh Lesconil,
Festival Fileri-Filera ...

PRO SPACE

  Press kit

  Press photo (Photo credit: Maria Menguy)

Technical sheet

DISCOGRAPHY

2017  : " Spring Days ", Klam Records, dist: l'Autre Distribution  

CHRONICLES
 
"The album begins with a guitar intro, solid chords and tunes that build the tension of the flute to bring the melody of The Forgotten Jig, an Erwan Menguy composition. It's evident, from the opening notes , that the flute playing is extraordinary, with fluttering breath tremors and passing nyah moments, the track kicks off on “John Kelly” and ends on jazzy “Adenza's Storm”, reminiscent of Brian Finnegan and Mike McGoldrick, modern masters; Erwan Menguy can hold his own with either one.
De Mina breathes oriental music, a pure flute solo, the call of a minaret, when the guitar arrives we are transported to the Balkans; It is the longest piece, the most complex which develops over more than 7 minutes. They return home to Brittany with “A Greiz Galon” opening on small guitar guitar solo notes before the usual hypnotic Breton dance takes us on a round of Fest noz.
The album closes with a slow Irish track “Cailin Na Griaige Baine”, an emotional ending to a very good album indeed. If you're a flute player, this is a record for your collection, it will challenge you on so many (good) levels."  
Sean Laffey, Irish Music Mag

"Menguy plays the flute and the low whistle, Bérenguer the guitar. Both have Erwan as their first name. They come from Brittany and have played in a variety of Breton dance groups for many years. When they play together, however, they share their love of traditional and composed Irish music and that's what we hear here.
Many of the recent years' recordings of piper with flute and guitar have sought to include sonic touches from other musicians as much as possible, while the guitarist with his instrument tuned in various open chords provides a backing that is as percussive as it is melodious. There is no doubt that this approach produces an exciting sound. But, this album reminds us that there can be a different approach.
The flautist uses many techniques to maintain interest in his playing, cutting off a series of notes to give a staccato effect, using vibrato and generally trying to emphasize the beauty of the tunes he is playing. . A quiet tempo helps with this. The guitarist also varies his approach but basically sees his role as a harmonic although he will sometimes echo the melodic line of the flute with a single string.
Varying the dance tunes with well-chosen slow tunes, and thoughtful programming with occasional double-tracking makes it interesting and enjoyable to listen to."  
Vic Smith, fRoots

"Bringed together within the Klam collective, the duo Erwan Menguy on the wooden transverse flute and Erwan Bérenguer on the guitar, offer us a minimalist and fascinating first CD. Is Brittany a land apart, to regularly offer us talented young musicians producing UFO albums in our standardized musical world?
Imagine going to see a national record company with this type of project: a 100% instrumental album with a flute and a guitar! It's never boring, it's never sad or nostalgic, it's living music, played with two hearts and two sensitive souls for our greatest happiness.
Don't think it's music to listen to in the background in a supermarket! We are in the presence of current traditional music that knows where it has its sources, that claims its heritage, without forgetting that we are in 2017. Listen carefully to "Island of Wood""  
Gérard Viel, 5 Planets

Contact booking:

Fanch Paranthoen /   fanch@klam-records.org / (+33)695 308 008

bottom of page

Encore un album de musique irlandaise interprétée par des bretons ? …

Attention ! complémentarité, recherche et création sont les seules motivations pour ces deux musiciens d’exception ...

Pas question de faire des trèfles dans la mousse que l'on sert.

Le répertoire Irlandais n'est pas ici réduit à sa seule force séductrice.

Bien au contraire, les accompagnements des mélodies sont épurées, l'ornementation est soigneusement adaptée.

Ils canalisent tous les deux leur énergie comme pour maintenir vivante les réminiscences d'une danse folle bien au délà des clichés convenus.

Un voyage intérieur riche et inspiré qui n'est pas sans contraste grâce aux "sur-exposition" et "sur-impression" dont le duo se joue.

DISTRIBUTION

Erwan Menguy (Flûte traversière, low whistle)

Erwan Bérenguer (Guitare)

RÉFÉRENCES

Le Festival de Cornouailles, Les Celtiques de Guérande, Festival Roue Waroch, Festival des petites chapelles (Gétigné), Guinguette Alricq, Les mercredis de Tréguier,les mercredis de Loudia, Festival Interceltique de Lorient, Le Toucouleur, Le Kerganer, La Mission Bretonne, Les Apéros-Breizh Lesconil, Festival Fileri-Filera ...

ESPACE PRO

 Dossier de presse

 Photo de presse (Crédit photo : Maria Menguy)

Fiche technique

DISCOGRAPHIE

2017 : "Spring Days", Klam Records, dist :l'Autre Distribution 

CHRONIQUES

  

"L'album commence par une introduction à la guitare, des accords solides et des morceaux qui forment la tension de la flûte pour amener la mélodie de The Forgotten Jig, une composition d'Erwan Menguy. Il est évident, à partir des premières notes, que le jeu de la flûte est extraordinaire, avec des tremblements de souffle flottants et des moments de nyah qui passent, le morceau démarre sur “John Kelly” et termine sur “Adenza's Storm”, jazzy, reminiscences de Brian Finnegan et Mike McGoldrick, maîtres modernes; Erwan Menguy peut tenir le sien avec l'un ou l'autre.

De Mina respire la musique orientale, un pur solo de flûte, l'appel d'un minaret, lorsque la guitare arrive on est transporté vers les Balkans; C'est le plus long morceau, le plus complexe qui se développe sur plus de 7 minutes. Ils rentrent chez eux en Bretagne avec “A Greiz Galon” ouvrant sur de petites notes solo de guitare guitare avant que la danse bretonne hypnotique habituelle ne nous emmène dans une ronde de Fest noz.

L'album se referme avec un morceau irlandais lent “Cailin Na Griaige Baine”, une fin émotionnelle pour un très bon album en effet. Si vous êtes un joueur de flûte, c'est un disque pour votre collection, il vous mettra au défi sur tant de (bons) niveaux." 

Sean Laffey, Irish Music Mag

"Menguy joue de la flûte et de la low whistle, Bérenguer de la guitare. Les deux ont Erwan comme prénom. Ils viennent de Bretagne et jouent dans une variété de groupes de danse bretonne depuis de nombreuses années. Quand ils jouent ensemble, cependant, ils partagent leur amour de la musique irlandaise traditionnelle et composée et c'est ce que nous entendons ici.

Beaucoup des enregistrements de ces dernières années de flûte irlandaise avec flûte et guitare ont cherché à inclure autant que possible des touches sonores d'autres musiciens, tandis que le guitariste avec son instrument accordé de divers accords ouverts fournit un support autant percussif que mélodieux. Il ne fait aucun doute que cette approche produit un son excitant. Mais, cet album nous rappelle qu'il peut y avoir une approche différente.

Le flûtiste utilise de nombreuses techniques pour maintenir de l'intérêt à son jeu, en coupant une série de notes pour donner un effet staccato, en utilisant le vibrato et en essayant généralement de mettre l'accent sur la beauté des airs qu'il joue. Un tempo tranquille est une aide pour cela. Le guitariste varie également son approche mais voit fondamentalement son rôle comme un harmonique bien qu'il fera parfois écho à la ligne mélodique de la flûte avec une seule corde.

Le fait de varier les airs de danse avec des airs lents bien choisis , et une programmation réfléchie avec un double suivi occasionnel rend cela intéressant et l'écoute agréable." 

Vic Smith, fRoots

"Réunis au sein du collectif Klam, le duo Erwan Menguy à la flûte traversière en bois et Erwan Bérenguer à la guitare, nous offre un premier CD minimaliste et passionnant. Est-ce que la Bretagne est une terre à part, pour régulièrement nous proposer des jeunes musiciens talentueux produisant des albums OVNI dans notre monde musical standardisé ?

Imaginez d’aller voir une maison de disque nationale avec ce type de projet : un album 100% instrumental avec une flûte et une guitare ! Ce n’est jamais ennuyeux, ce n’est jamais triste ou nostalgique c’est de la musique vivante, jouée avec deux cœurs et deux âmes sensibles pour notre plus grand bonheur.

Ne croyez pas qu’il s’agisse d’une musique à écouter en fond sonore dans un super marché ! Nous sommes en présence d’une musique traditionnelle actuelle qui sait où elle prend ses sources, qui revendique son patrimoine, sans oublier que nous sommes en 2017. Ecoutez attentivement « Island of Wood »" 

Gérard Viel, 5 Planètes

Contact booking :

Fanch Paranthoën /  fanch@klam-records.org / (+33)695 308 008

CONTACTEZ-NOUS :

Tél : (+33)669 012 131

contact@klam-records.com

15, Rue Georges Cadoudal

56400 - PLUNERET

© 2019 par KLAM RECORDS

CONTACT